Five designers awarded in the EcoDesign Special Exhibition 2010

The first EcoDesign prize was awarded at Habitare’s EcoDesign exhibition. The curator of the exhibition, German lighting fixture designer Ingo Maurer, decided to divide the EUR 5.000 prize sum among four designers. The Finnish interior architect Samuli Naamanka was awarded EUR 2.000, and scrap designer Henrik Enbom (Finland), designer Heath Nash (South Africa) and architect Julien De Smedt (Belgium) were awarded EUR 1.000 each.

This year, the EcoDesign exhibition organized in conjunction with the 2010 Habitare furniture, interior decoration and design fair revolved around lighting fixtures and related new ecological innovations. The most interesting entries in the exhibition were awarded the EcoDesign prize. The prize, donated by the Finnish Fair Foundation, amounted to EUR 5.000. All four winning lighting fixtures reflected the main judge Ingo Maurer’s ideas of environmental friendliness, concepts, aesthetics and execution.

The main partner of the exhibition Sampo Bank Private Banking granted Beyond the Ordinary prize EUR 2.000 to Finnish designer Tapio Anttila.